DOUBLE CONCERTO FOR MARIMBA AND TIMPANI (with Orchestra, Band, Perc.Ens or piano)

– Versions with Orchestra, Chamber Orchestra, Symphonic Band, Perc.Ensemble and Piano reduction.
Timpani part available in 2 versions (7-8 timpani or 5 timpani)

All Available for sale or EZ-Rent in PDF

I. Divertimento
II. Appassionato
III. El Camino
IV. Joyful

Level:  advanced
Duration:  26 min.

Marimba, Timpani and Orchestra (EZ-Rent)
2fl, 2ob, 2cl, 2bsn, 2 hns, 2 Trpt, Trbone, perc, and strings
DC Orchestra Perusal score

Marimba, Timpani and Chamber Orchestra (EZ-Rent)
fl, ob, cl, bsn, 2 f.hns, perc, and strings
DC Chamber Orchestra Perusal Score

Marimba, Timpani and Symphonic Band (EZ-Rent)
Pic, Flts ,Obs, Clr1,Clr2, BClar, Bassoon, Asax, Tsax,Bsax,Trpts1,2,3, Hrns1,2 Trbones,1,2,3,Euph, Tuba, 4 Perc
DCB Perusal Score

Marimba, Timpani and Large Percussion Ensemble (soloist + 9 players)
(score and parts for sale in PDF format – Click Add to Cart)
DC with Percussion Ensemble Sample SCORE

Suite for Marimba, Timpani and Percussion Ensemble (same orchestration/instruments)
Excerpts from all 4 movements in a 12 mins long work.
(score and parts for sale in PDF format – Click Add to Cart)

Marimba, Timpani with Piano reduction (for sale in PDF format – Click Add to Cart)

Free MARIMBA Solo Part for Double Concerto

Free TIMPANI Solo (original 7-8 timpani)

Free TIMPANI Solo (5 timpani)
DC 5 Timp PART

Program Note

Double Concerto for Marimba, Timpani and Orchestra by Ney Rosauro
This concerto was commissioned by the Fondazione Haydn di Trento e Bolzano and written in Miami, USA from January to March 2017. It has four movements and runs about 25 mins.

It is written with the intention of exploring the rich combination of the two solo instruments playing lyrical melodies and captivating rhythms. The lighter orchestration helps to give more clarity and exposure to the marimba and timpani parts.

The marimba part requires a five-octave instrument and explores many modern four-mallet techniques. The timpani part is especially challenging because the timpanist plays many melodies (unusual for the instrument in the orchestral setting), requiring a very demanding use of the tuning pedals.

Mov. 1 – Divertimento: The adagio introduction presents the main theme of the concerto which returns throughout the entire piece. The theme from the allegro section explores the Lydian and the Mixolydian modes, scales which are characteristic of the music from Northeastern Brazil. The dialogue and counterpoint of the two soloists are the main features of this movement.

Mov. 2 – Appassionato: The movement’s name depicts the passionate mood of the sad melody from the main theme, initially presented by the English horn and later by the marimba. The timpani carry the second theme. The string accompaniment is an independent and lyrical melodic line.

Mov. 3 – El Camino: These melodies were flowing in my mind constantly as I walked the Saint James Way El Camino de Santiago de Compostela in Spain recently. The distant melody developed in fugato depicts the long, introspective walk and mystical atmosphere of this unique experience through El Camino.

Mov. 4 – Joyful: After a bridge performed only by the marimba and timpani, the radiant theme of this movement is followed by several variations which explore the virtuosity of the soloists. After the main cadenza the movement’s theme, and theme from the introduction, are repeated. The concerto closes in a lively mood full of energy.

The Percussion Ensemble version is dedicated to Ivan Mancinelli (marimba) and Domenico Cagnacci.

(Oficial Video) With Orquestra Sinfonica de Porto Alegre (OSPA). Ney Rosauro and Douglas Guthjahr soloists and Christian Baldini director.

Videos with Gabriela Jimenez Lara on Timpani, The OSM from Toluca, Mexico, directed by Gabriela Alatriste

Mov.1 with orchestra

Mov.2 with orchestra

Mov.3 with orchestra

Mov.4 with orchestra

With Percussion Ensemble version. UNAM Perc. Ensemble from Mx city and Gabriela Jimenez Lara

With Haydn Orchestra, Ivan Mancinelli (marimba) and Domenico Cagnacci (timpani)

Version with 5 timpani plus marimba performed by Duo Nato: Marco Vidal Donato and Lucas Donato.

DOUBLE CONCERTO FOR MARIMBA AND TIMPANI (with Orchestra, Band, Perc.Ens or piano)


SKU: N/A Categories: , ,
EZ-Rent: Double Concerto for Marimba, Timpani and Orchestra, Double Concerto for Marimba, Timpani and Chamber orchestra, Double Concerto for Marimba, Timpani and Symphonic Band

Click here to select your piece for rent in PDF and fill out the rental agreement.

Solo Percussion with Piano reduction