CONCERTO N.1 FOR VIBRAPHONE (with Orchestra, Band, Perc.Ens or piano)

– Versions with Chamber Orchestra, Wind Ensemble, Perc.Ensemble or Piano reduction.

Opus #21

In 3 movements. Technically challenging and musically rewarding, this piece is of the few concerti for vibraphone available. As Evelyn Glennie says: “Like the marimba concerto this vibraphone concerto is sure to be a winner with performers and audiences worldwide”.

Level: advanced
Duration: 19 mins.


Solo Vibraphone and Orchestra (EZ-Rent in PDF format)
1 fl, 1 ob, 1 cl, 1 bsn, 2 hn, 1 perc, strings,
CV Orchestra Perusal Score

Solo Vibraphone and Wind Ensemble (EZ-Rent in PDF format)
pic, 2 fl, 2 ob, eng.hrn,, 2 cl, bcl, 2 bsn, cbsn, 2 a.sax, t.sax, b.sax, 4 hn, 3 tpt, 3 tbn, euph, tba, db., timp, 3-4 perc
CVO WE Perusal Score

Solo Vibraphone and Percussion Ensemble (soloist + 6 players) (Hard copy and PDF)
Sample PDF (Opens in a new tab)
6 players: xyl/glock, mrb, bmrb, perc, drums, timpani

Solo Vibraphone and Piano (Hard copy and PDF)
Sample PDF (Opens in a new tab)

Program Note

The Concerto for Vibraphone and Orchestra was written in Santa Maria, RS, Brazil in 1995 and 1996 and is dedicated to Evelyn Glennie. The work was originally written for vibraphone and chamber orchestra (1 flute, 1 oboe,?1 clarinet, 1 bassoon, 2 horns, percussion and strings). The concerto was premiered with piano reduction during the 1996 Japan Percussion Festival in Tokyo, and the orchestral version was first presented at the composers’ festival ENCOMPOR in Porto Alegre, RS, Brazil later that year performed by the composer and accompanied by the Orquestra Unisinos under the direction of Maestro Jose Pedro Boessio. The first arrangement for wind ensemble was made by Rodrigo Morte and the actual arrangement is by the composer.

The work is written in three movements and has a bridge connecting the last two movements without pause. The first and last movements are constructed over a mixed scale that combines lydian and mixolydian modes, which are quite often found in the folk music of northeastern Brazil.

The first movement develops from a chromatic theme, presented in a slow tempo in the opening measures of the work, and represents the constant life struggle of the poor people in the dry lands of northeastern Brazil.

The second movement is based on the Brazilian folk lullaby called Tutu Maramba, and depicts a child’s peaceful passage to a dream-filled slumber. The effect of playing the vibraphone with the rattan handle of the mallet recalls the sound of music boxes used to lull children to sleep.

The last movement depicts the flight of seagulls, which was inspired by time spent by the composer at Ipanema Beach in Rio de Janeiro, while watching a breathtaking view of the sun setting over the Arpoador rock formations. Percussive Notes magazine calls the concerto “an excellent showcase for the solo vibist, and, like the Marimba Concerto, another excellent work that audiences will find enjoyable and exciting.”

Excerpts w. Orchestra

Concerto for Vibraphone and Chamber Orchestra

For Vibraphone and Percussion Ensemble

CONCERTO N.1 FOR VIBRAPHONE (with Orchestra, Band, Perc.Ens or piano)


EZ-Rent: Concerto for Vibraphone with Orchestra, Concerto for Vibraphone with Wind Ensemble

Click here to select your piece for rent in PDF and fill out the rental agreement.

Concerto for Vibraphone with Orchestra
Solo Vibraphone and Percussion Ensemble, Solo Vibraphone and Piano